Astrobiology (general)

Call for Nominations: National Academy of Science Awards

By Keith Cowing
September 16, 2009

The Academy presents a number of awards, spanning a wide range of scientific disciplines, to recognize outstanding achievements in science.

Nominations for awards to be presented in the year 2010 will be accepted through September 15, 2009.

Stanley Miller Medal

The award recognizes research on Earth’s early development as a planet, including prebiotic chemistry and the origin of life; planetary accretion, differentiation, and tectonics; and early evolution of the atmosphere and oceans.

James Craig Watson Medal

Awarded for contributions to the science of astronomy.

Alexander Agassiz Medal

Awarded for an original contribution in the science of oceanography.

NAS Award in Molecular Biology

Awarded for recent notable discovery in molecular biology by a young scientist (45 and younger) who is a citizen of the United States.

NAS Award for Scientific Reviewing (Geosciences)

Presented since 1979 to recognize authors whose reviews have synthesized extensive and difficult material, rendering a significant service to science and influencing the course of scientific thought. Scheduled for presentation in 2010 in the area of geosciences.

G. K. Warren Prize Awarded for noteworthy and distinguished accomplishment in fluviatile geology and closely related aspects of the geological sciences.

For more information: Source: NAI Newsletter

Explorers Club Fellow, ex-NASA Space Station Payload manager/space biologist, Away Teams, Journalist, Lapsed climber, Synaesthete, Na’Vi-Jedi-Freman-Buddhist-mix, ASL, Devon Island and Everest Base Camp veteran, (he/him) 🖖🏻