Astrobiology (general)

Minority Institution Research Support (MIRS) Program 2013 Selections

By Keith Cowing
June 28, 2013
Filed under ,
Minority Institution Research Support (MIRS) Program 2013 Selections

The Astrobiology Program has selected 5 faculty members from minority serving institutions to conduct research in the labs of NASA Astrobiology Program researchers as part of the Minority Institution Research Support (MIRS) program during 2013.

The selections are:

Dr. Alan Anderson, Bowie State University
Host – Ramanarayanan Krishnamurthy, Scripps Research Institute
“A Search for the Ancestors of RNA”

Dr. Tiffany Oliver, Spelman College
Host – George Fox, University of Houston
“The Peptidyl Transferase Center (PTC)”

Dr. Joseph Onyilagha, University of Arkansas, Pine Bluff
Host – Stephen Freeland, University of Maryland Baltimore County
“Investigation into the Origin of the Genetic Code”

Dr. Anne Osano, Bowie State University
Host – Alfonso Davila, SETI Institute
“Salt Deliquescence Drives Photosynthesis in the Hyperarid Atacama Desert”

Dr. Pablo Suarez Joya, Delaware State University
Host – Wayne Roberge, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
“Adaptive Mesh Refinement Techniques for Simulating Multifluid Magnetohydrodynamic Shock Waves”

More information on the MIRS program can be found at

Explorers Club Fellow, ex-NASA Space Station Payload manager/space biologist, Away Teams, Journalist, Lapsed climber, Synaesthete, Na’Vi-Jedi-Freman-Buddhist-mix, ASL, Devon Island and Everest Base Camp veteran, (he/him) 🖖🏻